Group Roles/Ranks and Permissions

Follow

If you would like to grant special privileges to certain members, then the RoleSet system is the way to do it! The default group roles are Owner, Admin, Member, and Guest; however, custom ranks can be created by clicking the Create New button on the Roles section of your group's Group Admin page. For more information about this page, click here.

How to Assign Roles to Members

As long as you're the group owner or assigned to a role with the correct permissions, you can change another user's role by doing the following:

  1. Click Groups in the navigation bar on the left of the screen
  2. Find the group in question and click on it
  3. Click the Group Admin button on the right of the page
  4. Click Members
  5. Find a user you would like to modify
  6. Click the drop-down box under their picture
  7. Select the role you would like them to be assigned to

Note: you will only be able to change the roles of users that are currently in roles ranked lower than yours. Additionally you will only be able to promote users to roles ranked lower than yours.

Creating a New Role

If you are the group owner, you can create a brand new role for your members to be assigned to. Each new role will cost 25 Robux. To do this:

  1. Click Groups in the navigation bar on the left of the screen
  2. Find the group in question and click on it
  3. Click the Group Admin button on the right of the page
  4. Click Roles in the left column
  5. Click the Create New button
  6. Fill in the role's name, description and rank
  7. Click Purchase

This will create the new role with the default permissions. To edit these permissions and see what each one does, see the following section.

Note: Names cannot be used on more than one role at a time and ranks must only include the numbers 1-254. Errors most commonly occur when two or more ranks have the same rank number or rank name. Special characters may also cause group ranks to not update properly.

Note: There is a hard cap of 20 ranks for each group. This includes the "Guest Rank" automatically included for all groups.

Editing a Role and Its Permissions

Group owners can edit roles and their permissions from within the Roles tab of the Group Admin page. For steps on finding this, please see the above section.

Once you are viewing your roles you can change the name, description and ranking by editing the corresponding boxes. If you would like to change the role's permissions, click the Permissions button. This will display a window where you can assign special privileges. These are:

  • Posts

    • View Group Wall: View discussions on the group's wall

    • View Group Status: See the group shout

    • Post on Group Wall: Take place in conversations on your group's wall

    • Post Group Status: Update the group shout

    • Delete Group Wall Posts: Delete posts that other members have made on your group's wall
  • Members

    • Accept Join Requests: If the group is currently set to require manual approval, roles with this permission can accept or deny any pending requests to join

    • Kick Lower-Ranked Members: The ability to kick out members assigned to lower ranked roles

    • Manage Lower-Ranked Members: The ability to change the roles of other members currently assigned to a lower ranked role. For more information, see the "How to Assign Roles to Members" section at the top of this article

    • Manage Allies and Enemies: The ability to declare or remove group enemies and allies.

    • Manage the Clan: Make adjustments to your group's clan. For more information on clans, click here.
  • Assets

    • Add and Remove Group Personal Servers: The ability to create personal servers for the group.

    • Create Group Items: Allows for the creation of group clothing. For more information, click here.

    • Configure Group Items: Ability to edit already existing group clothing. For more information, click here.

    • Advertise the Group: Create ads for the group. For more information, click here.

    • Spend Group Funds: The ability to use the group's funds for certain group related actions.

    • Create and Edit Group Games: The ability to create and edit games that are specifically owned by the group.
  • Miscellaneous

    • View Group Audit Log: Allows for the viewing of group activity. For more information on this feature, click here.

Deleting Roles

Group owners are given the ability to delete roles other than Owner and Guest. That said, the name and description of Owner are able to be edited. To delete a role, click the red "X" located to the right of it. If there are users currently assigned to it, however, the "X" will be grey, and you will not be able to delete it.

More Information

For more information on other group related matters, please see the following links: