To chat with your friends on Roblox, you must meet Roblox’s communication requirements based on your age group (via age check), privacy settings, and region.
Once your age is verified, users over 9 can chat with friends almost the same way on all devices (phones, tablets, computers, and VR), though the screens might look slightly different using the Chat tab on Roblox.
- Note: We're renaming the Party tab to Chat for users over 9. This change is rolling out by region over the coming weeks, so depending on your country, you may still see Party. Both names refer to the same place, where you can chat with friends and start playing together. (Kids accounts under 9 will continue to see Party.)
Chatting with trusted friends
While you can already chat with regular friends around your own age, becoming trusted friends unlocks extra features. It allows you to text and group chat with friends who are in different age groups with you. If you are 13 or older, it also lets you use voice chat with them.
Access to features is determined by your age group and region.
| Age group | Features unlocked for trusted friends |
| Under 9 |
You cannot send direct messages or chat with friends outside of games. You can only chat with other players inside a game, using safe, moderated filters.
|
| 9 - 12 | You can text and group chat with your trusted friends with safety filters on. |
| 13 and up | You can text and group chat with your trusted friends without filters, and use voice chat. |
How to chat with friends
On a Phone or Tablet:
- From the Roblox Home Screen: Select the Chat tab at the bottom of your screen. Click on an existing chat to open it, or select the "+" button to choose friends and start a new chat.
-
Inside a game:
- In an Active Party: Chat with friends directly from the experience controls.
- Not in an Active Party: Open the hamburger menu and select Chat to access your chat with friends.
On a Computer (Web Browser):
- Look for the gray chat box in the lower-right corner of the screen. Click this box to reveal your list of friends and chat groups.
- Click on the person or group you want to talk to. If you have a lot of friends, you can use the Search box to find them quickly.
- Once you click a name, a smaller chat window will pop up to the left of your list. Type your message into the Send a Message box and hit the Enter key to send it.
Managing your group chats
Start a new group
From the Chat Tab:
- Click the "+" button.
- Select up to 5 friends by searching their username or scrolling your list.
- Click Create in the upper right corner to start the chat group.
Important note on invitations
Usually, when a friend adds you to a group chat, you join automatically. However, depending on your age or where you live, you might need to accept an invitation first. In these regions:
- You will see a prompt with details about the group and its members.
- You can Accept or Reject the invitation before seeing any chat.
- You may see an unread message notification indicating there are messages from the new group.
If you do not want to be in a group, you can leave at any time. If someone continues to add you to a group chat against your wishes, you can remove them as a friend. For more help, see our articles on How to Report Rule Violations and How to Block Another User.
Change group name
- Navigate to the group, and select the group name at the top.
- Select Not Set or the existing name.
- Type in a new name and select Save.
Add friends to group
- Navigate to the group.
- Select the three dots icon (top right).
- Select Add Friends.
- Select up to 5 friends by searching their username or scrolling your list.
- Select Add to add them to your group.
Report or remove someone
- Navigate to the group.
- Select the three dots icon (top right).
- Select the three dots icon next to the specific user.
- Choose Report User or Remove from Group.
Note: If the user said anything rude or inappropriate, or in any way violated Roblox's Terms of Use or Community Standards, please make sure to select Report User and then select Remove from Group afterward. Learn more about reporting violations by visiting the How to Report Rule Violations help article.
Leave a group
- Navigate to the group you wish to leave.
- Click on the group name.
- Select Leave Group option and confirm.
How to disable chat with friends
Users can also limit or turn off the ability to chat with friends in Settings > Privacy & content maturity > Communication > Chat and Party with friends.
- Friends Chatt: Depending on age; you can choose All friends, Trusted friends or No one (Selecting No one disables Party Chat).
- Voice Chat with friends: If available, you can choose All friends, Trusted friends or No one (Selecting No one disables Party Voice).