To keep your account and assets safe, Roblox may occasionally place a mandatory wait on sensitive actions, especially if they are initiated from an unfamiliar or high-risk session. This security feature is called Delayed Actions.
How does Delayed Actions work?
Delayed Actions provide a critical window of time for the legitimate account owners to secure their account if an unauthorized person gains access and attempts to take a highly sensitive action. In that scenario:
- The action is blocked: A mandatory waiting period (typically several hours) begins and the action will be rejected during this period.
- You are notified: Roblox sends a security notification to the registered email and other active devices via in-app notifications.
- You take control: You can review the request. If you did not initiate the action, you should respond with “No, it’s not me.” so that we can log out the unauthorized person from your account.
Which actions are affected?
To ensure the highest level of protection, we apply these delays to actions that involve significant account changes, the movement of assets (e.g., Robux, game ownership), or irreversible damages to a user’s account (e.g., a request to be forgotten).
Roblox is constantly evolving. We may expand Delayed Actions to cover additional sensitive account settings and financial transactions in the future to keep up with new security threats.
Why was my action delayed?
Our security systems analyze various signals to ensure that it is really you performing an action. A delay may be triggered if:
- You are attempting the action from a new device or location
- Our system detects activity that appears to originate from malware or malicious extension
- Our system detects activity that is inconsistent with your usual patterns
How to skip the delay
You can often complete sensitive actions immediately, without a waiting period, by using trusted, phishing-resistant security methods. These methods are the most secure way to prove your identity.
- Trusted Passkeys or Hardware Security Keys: If you have a passkey or a physical security key (like a YubiKey) that has been added and used on your account for a while, using it to verify the action will typically bypass the delay.
- Trusted Devices: Performing sensitive actions from a device and internet connection you use frequently reduces the likelihood of a delay.
NOTE: In some scenarios, such as when a very large group payout is being requested, we may disallow any bypass.
What should I do if I receive a "Delayed Action" alert?
If it was you:
You will need to wait for the timer to expire. Once the delay period ends, you can return to the page and complete the action. To avoid having to wait in the future, we recommend setting up a Passkey.
If it was NOT you:
Take action immediately. The delay time is your opportunity to protect yourself.
- Click the "No, it's not me" link in the email or notification.
- This will log out the suspicious session.
- Change your password and ensure your 2-Step Verification settings are up to date.